ABA Council

2019 Office Holders

ABA Council

The Australian Bar Association is governed by a Council consisting of office bearers who are elected annually and one representative appointed by each of the State Bar Associations.

Directors and Office Bearers


Ms Jennifer Batrouney QC
Immediate Past President, The Victorian Bar


Matthew Howard SC
Immediate Past President, Western Australian Bar Association


Michael McHugh SC


Kenneth Archer
President, ACT Bar Association

Chair, Advocacy Training Council

Ian Robertson SC

Constituent Body Representatives

ACT Bar representative

Steve Whybrow
President, ACT Bar Association

NSW Bar representative

Kylie Nomchong SC

NT Bar representative

Miles Crawley SC
President, Northern Territory Bar Association

QLD Bar representative

Peter Dunning QC

SA Bar representative

Mark Hoffmann QC
President, South Australian Bar Association

TAS Bar representative

Sandra Taglieri SC
President, The Tasmanian Bar

VIC Bar representative

(Dr) Matt Collins AM QC
President, The Victorian Bar

WA Bar representative

Stephen Davies SC
President, Western Australian Bar Association

Acting Chief Executive Officer

Greg Tolhurst

Company Secretary

Alastair McConnachie

Events Manager

Camilla Williams

IT Manager

Matthew Vickers